RSS

Spiderman Cake

18 May

When I made the cake for my niece’s birthday I was approached by someone else and asked to make a cake for their son’s 8th birthday. They requested a Spiderman Cake so I said yes and here it is.

First up I started with a basic cake cooked in a 32cm by 22cm oblong cake tin. I cut the shape of a head and made a little nose out of some of the cake I’d cut off. I filled it with butter cream and also coated it with butter cream before icing. I like to leave the cake for at least an hour for the butter cream to harden a little and give a better surface for the fondant.

I had to colour the fondant icing red, one of the colours I don’t like doing because it’s difficult to get it right, it takes a lot to make it look red rather than pink. One tip is to use a gel colour rather than a liquid one. I used red and claret food colouring to get the right shade.

I lightly marked the lines of the web with a plastic tool before filling it in with piped black royal icing. The eyes I cut out of fondant.

I found making this cake pretty easy and I was happy with my resultsspiderman cake 001

 

spiderman cake 002

 

 

spiderman cake 006.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 18, 2013 in my cakes

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
