RSS

Cake Photo Book and Competition

25 Apr

I was given the opportunity to make a photo book from Vista Print site

I’ve made a photo book before using my favourite photo’s of my children and I really love it, so I was thrilled to be able to make a book of my cake photos.

The process is simple, you choose your book size, add your photos, add any extras like backgrounds and text then in a few clicks it’s all sent off to be printed. A few days later your book is in your hand.

One thing I will say is that building your book can be very time consuming so it’s best to be prepared. I’ve found that the first job is to sort out which photo’s you want to use and put them all in a folder for easy access. This saves searching around for photos while you are in the process of building your book.

On VistaPrint you can edit your photos while building your book. This means you don’t have to spend ages editing them before hand, and you will know exactly how they will look in the book.

When you open up the application you will find places set out for your photos and any text you may wish to use. These are all completely editable, you can move them around, delete them or add extras, and it’s all very simple to do.

It is a time consuming process though, you choose your photos, choose where you want them to be, add text or backgrounds or even frames. You may not finish in one sitting so it’s handy that you can save your work at any time and return to it later. It took me about three hours to finish my book.

You will get warnings if your photos are not the best quality. You can choose to edit your photos or swap them for better. I left a few with warnings in and they were still printed.

For my book I chose to do a mixture of my favourite cake recipes followed by a montage of photos of the cakes I have decorated. My photos were not all brilliant, I’m no photographer, but the book still gave me great pleasure.

I chose the  extra large 30cm by 30cm square book with a hardcover. I was also able to add photos to the cover both front and back.

I love the quality of the book, the pages are glossy and bound together well. The overall effect is very professional looking.

If you would like to make a photo book please continue to the end of this post where I will give you details of how you can enter my give away.

My Cake Book

My Cake Book

cakebook2cake photo book

VistaPrint have given me a voucher for a photo book of your choice. You can choose the size and finish and fill it with whatever photos you wish. To be in with a chance of winning this fantastic prize please just comment below and let me know what you would use your photo book for, for example, your holiday pics, your baby pics, family day out etc.

This competition is for UK entrants only.

This competition may also be promoted on our Facebook page.

This competition will end on 9th May when one winner will be chosen at random.

Good Luck!

The competition is now closed and the winner chosen by random org. was no2 Sprigtreasurer, Congratulations, I’ll contact you with details very soon.

Disclaimer: I was given a voucher from Vista Print to make a book of my cakes. I was also given a voucher to give away to one of my readers by competition.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2013 in other stuff

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “Cake Photo Book and Competition

  1. Eileen Teo (@etspeaksfrom)

    April 25, 2013 at 9:35 pm

    i will made a book of their 2013 modelling shots

     
  2. sprigtreasurer

    April 25, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    What a lovely book & nice for you to have a memento of all the cakes you have made. Nice to see a pic of Thomas’s cake in there :o) I would love to do one of these with pics of the boys as have so many lovely pics on the PC that I never get around to doing anything with and would be a great keepsake. Have used vistaprint to make calendars for Christmas (5 4 1) & like Their stuff.

     
  3. Elaine Livingstone (@pooohbear2811)

    April 26, 2013 at 6:50 am

    just general scenic pictures form my 366/365 for me. Have made one before and I agree on the time consuming bit, but then for something so unique it has to be worth it.

     
  4. mummyoftwo2

    April 26, 2013 at 8:32 am

    What a fantastic book! I would use one to document our family life starting from when I met my husband, having our first then second child 🙂

     
  5. tina

    April 28, 2013 at 4:56 pm

    such lovely cakes

     
  6. Ann

    April 29, 2013 at 3:29 pm

    love the idea and think yours if fantastic… I would make a book of all the kids growing up and all the things they have done to post to the only relative i have really on my mums side but she lives in the states and for some strange reason doesn’t have the internet so I think it would make a fantastic present for her.

     
  7. Gemma Mills / Chamberlain (MyMillsBaby)

    April 30, 2013 at 10:17 am

    Awww I love your cake book! I would make a compilation of baby photos to celebrate Dexter’s first birthday! Such a wonderful idea x

     
  8. Tiasmum12

    May 8, 2013 at 9:54 pm

    I would defiantly use it to document my daughters firsts and other important things she gets up too. A real family book.

     
  9. Deb

    May 9, 2013 at 12:03 pm

    Love the way you’ve used the book for your cakes. For me I’d love to sort out my old holiday pics and bring them together in a book. We don’t go on holiday any more because of my son’s ASD so it would great to have a book of memories that we can dip into. Deb

     

Leave a Reply

 
