RSS

21st Birthday Presents Cake

23 Apr

My Sister-in-law asked me to make a cake for her daughter’s 21st birthday. She was having a big party at a venue so I knew it had to be good. The request was two or three tiers and in pink and purple. I decided to go for a birthday present cake.

I used vanilla cake for all tiers and filled them and first coated them with vanilla buttercream.

The bottom tier was a nine inch square and I covered it with purple fondant and decorated it with different sized white fondant stars. I used my new star punchers to make the stars. they are easier to use than cutters, especially when small and fiddly.

The Middle tier was a six inch square and covered in pink fondant with four hearts.

The top tier was a cute three inch square covered in white fondant.

Each ‘present’ was decorated with real ribbon. I did consider making the ribbon from fondant but I thought that using real ribbon would give the cake a little sheen, and of course it would be easier to do. I also made a ribbon for the top of the cake.

I was going to write the birthday message on the cake board but then I thought it would be nice to add a birthday card. I made the card from white fondant cutting out the two rectangles and leaving them to dry for a couple of days before decorating them with my edible pens and joining them with royal icing piped down the join. I added a few little fondant stars to tidy up the piping (I had to use rather a lot to make the sides stick)

My Sister-In-Law and niece were very pleased with the cake.

21st cake

I also made her twenty one cupcakes to match

 

 

 

21cake cupckaes

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 23, 2013 in my cakes

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “21st Birthday Presents Cake

Leave a Reply

 
