RSS

Yoghurt and Honey Valentines Cake

14 Feb

For a treat to celebrate Valentines Day I decided to try something new and make a yoghurt cake. Looking up recipes online I find that these are pretty simple cakes to make, often made using a yoghurt pot to measure all the ingredients. They are great for children to make and I will definitely try a more simple recipe with my girls very soon. For today, however, I wanted something a little more special, and I also wanted to include a special ingredient so I could enter the Foodies100 Greek Gods competition. I bought some Greek God’s Honey YoghurtHoney Lifestyle from Sainsbury’s (currently on offer with 99p off) and devised my recipe.

This is enough for a 9inch (22cm) round cake, but I wanted to make smaller heart shaped cakes and ended up with four. That’s one for me and my Valentine, and three for the kids.

Ingredients:

  • 170g of Greek Gods Honey Yoghurt
  • 200g soft butter or Stork
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 100g plain flour
  • 100g self-raising flour
  • 1/2tsp baking powder

For the topping:

  • 1 tbs honey
  • 1 tbs lemon juice

Decorate with more yoghurt or fresh cream

 

method:

Pre-heat oven to 380C or gas mark 4

  • cream butter and sugar
  • add eggs one at a time beating each one in
  • add yoghurt and mix
  • fold in flours and baking powder
  • place in lined cake tin (or tins)
  • cook for 30-40 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean
  • mix the honey with the lemon juice and drizzle over the cake while still warm
  • turn out when cool and serve with decoration.

Here’s how mine turned out

 

honey yoghurt cake

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 14, 2013 in my cakes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
