RSS

Strawberries and Cream Cup Cakes

19 Jan

My niece asked me to make her some strawberry and cream cupcakes. Now, I’m not a huge fan of cupcakes. I prefer to make and decorate big cakes though, it’s just more satisfying. However, when I saw the picture she sent me I thought I’d quite like to have a go at these.

I was a little worried that I wouldn’t be able to get any fresh strawberries at this time of year, but it didn’t prove difficult. They were even half price at my local supermarket. I decided to use both strawberries and strawberry jam to flavour the cakes. I did consider a jam centre but I thought that would probably be best left to doughnuts. The topping had to be cream, not icing, after all these were strawberries and cream cakes. I was quite happy with the results and my niece was thrilled.

Ingredients:

  • 110g butter (or Stork as I prefer)
  • 110g caster sugar
  • 140g self-raising flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbs strawberry jam
  • 4 strawberries chopped up
  • 300g double or whipping cream
  • 1 tsp of icing sugar
  • fresh strawberries cut in half to decorate

Method:

  • Pre-heat oven to 190 C/ gas mark 5
  • add the cream and butter to a bowl and cream until smooth
  • add the eggs one at a time and beat into the mixture
  • add the strawberry jam and mix
  • fold in the flour
  • fold in the chopped strawberries
  • put one 1tbs of the cake batter into each of 12 cup cake cases in a cupcake tray
  • bake for 20 to 25 mins, until completely cooked (they will spring back up if you gently poke them)
  • whip the cream with the icing sugar until it forms peaks
  • swirl on the cakes and top with half a strawberry

strawberries and cream cupcakes

 

cupcake single

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2013 in my cakes

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
