RSS

Christmassy Mincemeat Cupcakes with Brandy Butter Cream

14 Dec

I love mince pies. I love them so much I have to put off buying my first box of the year as long as possible because I will just keep eating them. Much nicer is making them yourself, then you can have as many as you like…eeeek! (my poor waistline)

Mixing my love of mince pies with my love of cake I decided to have a go at making some mincemeat cupcakes. I also made a delicious brandy butter cream.

Ingredients:

  • 125g soft unsalted butter
  • 125g golden caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 110g self-raising flour
  • 15g cornflour
  • pinch baking powder
  • 250g mincemeat (from jar)

For brandy buttercream

  • 150g butter
  • 1tbs brandy
  • 250g icing sugar, sifted

Method:

  • cream together the butter and sugar
  • whisk in the eggs one at a time
  • add flour cornflour and baking powder and mix
  • add mincemeat and combine
  • fill 12 cupcake cases two thirds full (the mixture does rise quite a bit so it might be a better idea to use muffin cases instead)
  • bake at gas 4/180 degrees for around 15 minutes.
  • leave to cool

to make brandy buttercream:

  • whisk together the butter brandy and half of the icing sugar. When smooth add the remaining icing sugar
  • spread liberally on cooled cakes

these were a big hit with the adults in my family

Mincemeat cupcakes

Mincemeat cupcakes

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 14, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
