RSS

Handbag and Shoe Cake

11 Dec

When I went to the Cake Show I saw loads of handbag and shoe cakes so when I was asked to make one I was pretty excited. The only instruction I was given was it had to be pink. I’ve had a lot of other things keeping me busy recently so I felt a little pushed for time making this cake which is never a good thing. First up I found a brilliant tutorial on making  fondant shoe on Cake Central. I didn’t have the right sort of embosser for the decoration, that’s definitely something on my to buy list. I only have one embosser at the moment.

Next I found a tutorial on making a handbag cake, this one really made it look easy. I didn’t follow either tutorial exactly but they gave me a good idea of what to do.

Here is the shoe in the making:

fondant shoe in the making

fondant shoe in the making

The first shoe I made cracked and I had to start again making the sole a little thicker. The shoe had 4 days drying time before I removed the cardboard wedge under the heel. I was disappointed that the heel still wrinkled a little, maybe it would be better to make the heel and allow it to dry before making the rest of the shoe?

Here is the almost finished handbag:

not quite finished handbag cake

not quite finished handbag cake

I think I could have shaped it better but I still have a fear of chopping away too much cake, and it seems such a waste. Also, when cutting the flat end I don’t think I made it quite flat enough and the cake tilted backwards a little. I did notice this and managed to even it up. It was also surprisingly tricky to cover with fondant, then I had a problem with the fondant drying too quickly and a few cracks appeared. You can see on just underneath the two middle flowers, and there was a couple on the back. There was also some smaller hairline cracks which I was able to cover up with royal icing and smooth out.I added a bow later as I felt it was missing something.

I covered the cake board in purple fondant and arranged the shoe in front of the bag. Here is the finished cake:

handbag and shoe cake

handbag and shoe cake

The shoe looks a slightly different colour because I dusted it with lustre dust.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 11, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
