RSS

Chocolate and Peanut Butter Ring Cake (or Sid The Squid)

22 Oct

Searching for a new cake recipe I came across one for a Chocolate and Peanut Butter Bundt Cake. It looked delicious and I have a real passion for peanut butter, but sadly I do not own a bundt tin. Maybe I’ll put one on my Christmas wish list. I do, however, have a ring tin, so I thought I’d have a go at adapting the recipe for that. Next problem was a challenge set by my eldest daughter. She’s been asking me for weeks to make a squid cake. I’ve resisted so far because I can’t think of how a cake could look attractive with a squid on it. Sometimes you have to put attractiveness to one side and give what is wanted though, so I decided that I could incorporate a squid with this cake. Call me crazy! First up the delicious cake; feel free to try this recipe, it’s mouth wateringly  yummy. You really don’t need to add the squid!

Ingredients:

for the filling

  • 250g peanut butter
  • 125g cream cheese
  • 1tbs butter
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 75g granulated sugar
  • 2 tbs self-raising flour

for the cake batter

  • 185g self raising flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4tbs cocoa powder
  • 175ml boiling water
  • 85g chocolate, chopped
  • 180ml sour cream
  • 170g butter
  • 280g brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp vanilla

Method:

to make filling

  • preheat oven to 350/gas mark4
  • make filling in a large bowl, beat peanut butter, cream cheese and butter until combined
  • add egg yolks, one at a time, beat until combined
  • mix in vanilla
  • pour in sugar and flour and mix until combined
  • put into an icing bag with a large tip and refrigerate until ready to use

to make batter

  • in a bowl whisk cocoa powder into boiling water
  • add chopped chocolate and stir until dissolved
  • mix in sour cream
  • in another bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  • mix in eggs, one at a time
  • add vanilla
  • fold in flour, baking soda and salt
  • fold in the cocoa mixture

make cake

  • pour half the cake batter into a greased ring tin
  • Pipe the peanut butter mixture over the centre of the cake batter
  • cover with remaining cake batter
  • cook for 40 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean

The cake is fine to eat like this and actually looks very attractive. I chose to decorate my cake and I used butter cream coloured with a blue food colouring and made a fondant squid out of lilac coloured fondant.

pipe the peanut butter filling over the cake batter

slice of cake, see the peanut butter filling

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 22, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
