RSS

Chocolate Chip Cake

07 Oct

I wasn’t fortunate to attend the MAD (mum and dad) Blogger Awards so I didn’t get one of those cute cake mix jars that were given by Appliances Online. What a lovely idea though. I was, however, sent a link and invited to join in with their Cakes Win Prizes challenge and, well, how could I resist a cake challenge.

The blog gives you a recipe for a chocolate chip cake to bake, I used this and tweaked it a little. So here is the recipe along with my tweaks in brackets. I had to make the cake bigger, I’ve got FIVE kids!!


Dry Ingredients:

  • 65g (I used 95g)caster sugar 
  • 60g (I used 90g) Light soft brown sugar 
  • 125g(I used 185g) self raising flour
  • 25g (I used 50g white) Chocolate chips
  • (1tbs cocoa powder)

Wet Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (optional)
  • 2 (I used 3) medium eggs
  • 125g (I used 185g) butter or margarine, softened at room temperature
  • 2 tbsp milk, to loosen

I also made a butter cream filling and topping:

  • 110g butter or margarine
  • 220g icing sugar
  • milk chocolate chips
  • chocolate buttons for decoration

Here’s what I did:

First I creamed the butter and sugars together. Then I added the eggs and beat them in with a wooden spoon. I then sifted in the flour and cocoa powder and mixed in. Finally I added white chocolate chips.

I baked the cake in two 7 inch cake tins for 30 mins.

I let the cakes cool and made the butter cream by creaming together the butter and icing sugar. I used half of this mixture to cover the top half of the cake. Then I added the chocolate chips to the butter cream and used this to cover the bottom half of the cake. I then sandwiched the cakes together and decorated the top with chocolate buttons.

The girls helped too. Leila licked the butter cream bowl clean and Lucy helped finish off the remaining chocolate buttons.

Now for the pictures, and even though I say so myself, this cake was yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cake

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 7, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
