RSS

My Favourite Carrot Cake Recipe

25 Sep

I’ve been making carrot cake for years and it’s a big favourite in our house. I’ve decided to share my recipe with you.This is one of the easiest cakes you can bake, I’ve never had one go wrong.

Ingredients

185g sugar (you can use granulated but I like using golden caster sugar)

180ml vegetable oil

2 medium eggs

150g self-raising flour

2 large carrots grated (about 130g)

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda

1/2 tsp salt

1tsp cinnamon (optional)

Method

preheat oven to 180C or gas mark 4

In a large bowl beat the sugar, oil and eggs together until even.

Add flour, baking powder, bicarb, salt an cinnamon and beat into batter

Fold in the grated carrots.

easy peasy!

Use an 8in tin lined and greased.

Bake for 35 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean.

Allow to cool before icing.

Now we like this cake just as it is and I don’t ice it very often, but it goes very well with cream cheese icing so here’s the recipe for that.

ingredients:

175g cream cheese

175g soft butter

225g icing sugar (sifted)

1/2tsp vanilla essence

Method:

beat all the ingredients together until smooth

cover top of cake.

Enjoy!

carrot cake

Easy Carrot Cake with Cream cheese Frosting

 

Sorry my photo’s are getting worse, I’m getting a new camera on Friday, so hopefully they’ll be looking better by next time

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 25, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “My Favourite Carrot Cake Recipe

  1. BlueSkyMum

    September 25, 2012 at 9:26 pm

    I love quick and easy cakes and this sounds like something that would be very popular in my house 🙂

     
  2. Purplelou1965

    January 31, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    I have been looking for a good carrot cake recipe :)) Thank you :)) X

     

Leave a Reply

 
