RSS

Pear Cake

17 Sep

I love pears but I’ve not used them in a cake before. When I make apple cake sometimes I cook the apples a little first as I prefer them soft. I figured that as pears are softer anyway they should be ok to use without cooking first.
I decided to put the pears just underneath the surface of the cake batter rather than all through the cake but really it’s up to you, if you fancy pears in every bite then they could be mixed in a little more. I’ve used two pears in this recipe but you could add maybe one more if you wish.

Ingredients

200g unsalted butter
200g sugar
4 eggs
200g flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
4 tablespoons milk
2-4 pears
demerara sugar

Method

preheat oven to 180C/gas 4
grease and line an 8″ cake tin
cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy.
Add the eggs a little at a time and beat into the mixture
sift in the flour and the baking powder
fold gently into the mixture
add milk and mix gently
peel, core and chop the pears into small pieces
either mix gently into the cake batter or place them on top and push gently under the surface
sprinkle top of mixture with a little demerara sugar

bake in the oven for 35-40 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean. I had to put a piece of baking foil over the cake for the last 10 minutes to stop it from going to brown.

leave to cool then turn out onto serving plate.

Pear Cake

Pear Cake slice

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 17, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
