RSS

Banana Honey Cake

09 Sep

I’m not a big fan of banana cake, but I wanted to try something new and I liked the idea of combining banana and honey. I often make carrot cake so I was looking towards a similar recipe.

I decided not to decorate although if I did I think butter cream would do. The cake is light and airy though and very sweet. I’m sure it really needs anything else.

 

Ingredients:

  • 150g self-raising flour
  • 70g castor sugar
  • 2 medium eggs
  • 100ml vegetable oil
  • 1/4 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 50g clear honey
  • 2 ripe bananas

 

Preparation:

  • pre-heat oven to 160C/gas mark3
  • grease the cake tin (20cm) and line with baking parchment
  • whisk caster sugar and eggs together in a bowl, they need to be light and fluffy so about 5-10 minutes.
  •  add the honey into the batter while whisking
  • slowly drizzle the oil into the batter while whisking
  • sift the flour, bicarbonate of soda and salt into the mixture
  • fold into the batter carefully
  • mash the bananas and fold carefully into the batter
  • pour batter carefully into cake tin
  • bake in oven for 35 – 40 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean

 

banana and honey cake

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 9, 2012 in my cakes

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
