RSS

Making Coloured Fondant

16 Aug

Next week I’m making a cake for my daughter and needed a rainbow of fondant colours. When adding colours to white fondant I find it is messy, difficult to get the colour right and it often changes the texture of the fondant. I’ve always found buying coloured fondant easier, but when you need a lot of colours for one cake it can work out pretty expensive. So I decided to have a go at making some coloured fondant.

First I checked out some recipes. Then I found a box of Silver Spoon fondant icing sugar on the supermarket shelf. Instructions…add water and kneed. I decided to give it a go.

The instructions called for 2 tablespoons of water to 1lb of icing sugar. I didn’t want to make 1lb of any one colour so I  worked it out. For 250g of icing sugar I would need approximately 10ml of water. (As you can see my math isn’t brilliant) I would also be adding the colours before the water.

I took it slowly, first adding a few drops of colouring then the water drop by drop until I had a dough like mixture. Then I kneeded it and covered it in cling film while making the other colours. Soon I had six different colours of fondant. I already had the seventh colour in my cupboard.

I haven’t worked with them yet, but they look and feel good so I’m optimistic, and they cost a fraction of the price of buying coloured fondant.

Image

 

 

Foodies100 Index of UK Food Blogs
Morphy Richards
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 16, 2012 in other stuff

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
